noobtwitter.blogg.se

Conn trombone serial numbers k prefix
Conn trombone serial numbers k prefix











conn trombone serial numbers k prefix

Thanks, K This thread here is an old thread so you may or may not get a response from Clipper, but I just wanna direct you to the PanAm serial list which myself and Stocker have combined to produce in THIS thread (if you have not found it already). With lainch in 1931, I am assuming 1930 production for the ealiest models. Cavalier was launched in 1931, so the low numbers you are indicating would definitely fall between 19. The models for your instrumetns are 92M for the Alto and 96N for the Tenor. I am doing a study on the Cavalier serial numbers in ab attempt to derive a dating sequence similar to those done for Conn and Pan American. With lainch in 1931, I am assuming 1930 production for the ealiest models.Ĭlipper, If you still have these saxes, complete serial numbers would be helpful as well as pictures. Clipper, If you still have these saxes, complete serial numbers would be helpful as well as pictures. So, I would put your horns to be 1920s-early 30s. Although the front F was absent from many stencils, it tended to appear on later horns possibly in the 40s and the rear Eb tended to disappear about then along with the G# trill. The best way is to compare features with Conns of the day. Cavalier, Sherwood, Continental Colonial and others may have existed well into the 1950s. The Pan-Americans were not really stencils as Conn sold them directly to the dealers. As to the serial numbers, I have no idea. Interesting as the Cavaliers I have played were left side keys. With opposing bell keys, I would stretch the date up to about 1935 as some Conn altos still were that way during the transitional period and most tenors were the opposed bell keys. PanAms became Directors in '57.but I doubt Cavaliers lasted into the '50's.Īll of the Cavaliers I have seen follow the Conn/Pan-Am style.

conn trombone serial numbers k prefix

I am fairly sure I have seen Cavalier saxes with same-side bellkeys on eFlay from time to time. It might even be fair to hazard a guess that they lasted up until WWII.but no further. I think it is solid to say that they existed into 1938, as there are online examples.

conn trombone serial numbers k prefix

I cannot say I have ever seen a post-war Cavalier.at least not by stylistic identification. Therefore, as Conn split-bells ceased to exist in the mid '30's or so.fair to say that your guestimate date on your horn is correct.īTW.there are a lotta PanAms which do not have the 'P' prefix in the serial.and a lotta Conn stencils also are absent the 'P' prefix. Now, in another thread we discuss that, in fact, the sax bodies of PanAms and Conns are the same, it is the keywork and inclusion or exclusion of RTH which make them different. According to the Conn Loyalist site, they were marketed as being 'Produced by the Pan American company'. I do not know when the name brand Cavalier vanished from use. The latest Cavalier instruments I have found were late '30's.these being Cornets and Mellophones. Any Conn stencil I have seen has had the tell-tale 'P' in the serial number, indicating Pan Am. Has anyone seen Cavalier saxes with same-side bell keys or serials over 5000? I'm thinking Conn stencilled Pan Ams for third parties, but not Cavaliers. Despite the simple engraving, both horns have MOP rollers and concave pearl touches. I'm sensing low production over a short period of time. My Cavalier alto is serial 08xx and the tenor is 06xx. My 20s Pan AM alto has the locking screws, but none are present on the Cavaliers. I am thinking that the Cavalier line must have been abandoned by 1929. These horns use the Conn-style tapered pivot screws. I have a Cavalier Alto in silver plate and a Cavalier Tenor in brass.

#CONN TROMBONE SERIAL NUMBERS K PREFIX SERIAL NUMBER#

He wasn't sure of the dates for Cavaliers, but Pan American production apparently ran from around 1917 to 1954 and the Pan American serial numbers don't mesh with the Conn serial number list (no source. Conn Trombone Serial Numbers List 5,6/10 2726reviewsĪccording to Don Bilger, Conn also manufactured trombones under the Pan American and Cavalier brand names.













Conn trombone serial numbers k prefix